Ramblings on Coffee Shops / Self-Esteem Boost

For a guy who likes coffee, I haven’t been to many coffee shops. I’ve had Starbucks and Seattle’s Best, but there are those who scoff at such “mainstream garbage.” And since there are people who scoff at such “mainstream garbage,” I won’t tell you I like Starbucks and Seattle’s Best.

There was a place back home called Kofenya. Never went.

Here in Tulsa, there’s a place called Nordaggio’s, and it’s within walking distance. Best thing there is called the Caramel Mocha Big Train, and it’s not on the menu. Go there and get one. Tell ’em Joey sent ya.

(and if you do that, let me know what happens, because i don’t know them…)

There’s also a place called Shades of Brown. It’s a bit of a drive away, but I like it. There I was introduced to a drink I had never heard before. Here’s a picture:

WP_20140503_00720140503223529

It’s called a spicy latte. And yes, it’s exactly what it sounds like. A latte with ginger, cinnamon, and cayenne pepper. I was feeling adventurous that night, but I’m glad for that. It was delicious. I passed it around to let everyone try it. The most common response was something along the lines of, “Wow… That’s got a kick. It’s…powerful.” Which is a fancy way of saying, “Your coffee sucks, Joey.”

But I didn’t care. If I ever go back, I’ll get another one. I loved it.

You know what I would love to do? Own a coffee shop. It’d be called “Cuppa Joe,” and it’d be the hoppingest place this side of the Arkansas river.

***

By now, you’re probably asking what the point of this post was. To be honest, there really wasn’t one. But I was reading my “About the Oxford Comma” page, and I saw the reason I started this blog: To provide insight into my thoughts, which are unnecessary (yet advocated… like an oxford comma). Now, I’ve had some form of self-esteem issues for a long time. But I’m trying to change that. To call my thoughts unnecessary meshed with my worldview at one point in time. Not so much anymore. Sure, they may not be life-altering thoughts, but they are far from unnecessary.

So that brings me to my readers. Most of the people who read this blog are family members. I would love to see friends and strangers following it too, but even if that never happens, that’s okay. The point is, you are important. Don’t call yourself, your thoughts, or any part of your being unnecessary. That is far from the truth. I was thinking about coffee today and wrote it down for the internet’s judgmental eye to see. Was it life-altering? Probably not. Did it change your life for the better? Probably not. (But if it was life-altering or change-inducing somehow, please let me know. I’d love to hear about it.) It was simply a collection of thoughts that makes up a small aspect of who I am. Apply that now to your life: Every thought you have, even the ones you think are insignificant, makes up some part of you. And that’s important.

So whoever you are, boost your self-esteem. You are worth something. You are valuable. You are absolutely necessary. And don’t let anyone, including the slogan of this blog, tell you any different.

You know what boosts Joey Hall’s self-esteem? Commenting on his blogs! Let’s start us a conversation, shall we? Be sure to check out No Longer Oxford as well, through the link at the bottom.
One thought on “Ramblings on Coffee Shops / Self-Esteem Boost

Weigh In...

